I got home tonight. At 10:30 p.m. I have been gone 3 1/2 weeks, but it seems like longer. I skipped out on February, and that is how I got to March so soon. Poor, cold February. I can't believe I missed the coldest part of the winter! I am so smart! I am so lucky! I am so surprised that the temperature will be rising with each day, that it has already been to its lowest low and I MISSED IT! Hooray! What a lovely trick. I feel almost wickedly sneaky to have gotten away with hiding out in CALIFORNIA. There is no better hiding place to be --- unless you consider warmer beaches, and sunnier climes. ( Hawaii comes to mind. Tahiti. Fiji. The Caribbean. And all of those other places we dream of.)
Tomorrow it is supposed to snow. But it will still be warmer than it was in February, so I don't care. And when I get up to go swimming on Wednesday at 5 a.m. it will be 25 degrees, not 5 and I won't have to pretend as I dive in and recover from the coolness of the water that it is 100 degrees outside and mid-summer. And I won't have to question my sanity for wanting to dive into cool water when the temperature is hovering near zero. I will not feel the insanity. I will feel hope and pure joy for the thought that summer is coming, slowly but surely.
No comments:
Post a Comment